If it wasn’t for Aunty…

Carolyn, my sister, has been a huge blessing to the family. Not only does she babysit for free, but she also takes those opportunities to photograph the little munchkin. This past time she was here she even made her own set and got baby to smile and pose throughout the day while I was away teaching.

I am not much of a photographer. I am actually not the one who usually thinks to take a picture. However, in recent years, I have become sentimental and soppy in my old, old  age. I realize, looking back on how little photos I have of certain parts of my life, how important it is to take pictures so you can go back and remember. There is no time like the present to take a photo of yourself and those around you to see what you all look like in this time of life. Everyone changes.

Therefore, I am quite happy that there is someone other than myself to make sure that Edmund doesn’t grow up and suddenly I wish I had more pictures of when he was little. Already he is no longer new-bornish. Not that I think they would sell him liquor without asking for an ID, but he certainly looks on the older side of 1 month. How much more will he change in the next couple of months. Well, with my dear sister around, I’ll be able to go back and check. I love looking back and seeing how people were back in the day.

I had a guest over here the other day holding Edmund. I tried to take a couple of pictures of them together before she caught me and told me to stop taking her picture. This actually made me think a little bit about the power of pictures. I know many family members who hate having their picture taken. However, they don’t realize that the picture isn’t for them, its for the people who want to remember them.

Just think about this when you put up your hand because you think you don’t look good enough to have a photo taken. You are depriving others the joy of remembering you in that time. I am quite guilty of not wanting to take pictures at times because I certainly was not ready for it. The vanity struggle is real. I might not have makeup on. I might be wearing unflattering clothing. I might not be at my ideal weight. However, for the person taking the picture, it doesn’t really matter.  What if my Granny wouldn’t let me take a picture of her, Mom,  Edmund, and myself because she didn’t like that her hair is growing thin? It means that I am going to miss out on a family opportunity of getting 4 generations in a shot because she couldn’t sacrifice her vanity. (I use her as an example because she is MORE than willing to be in a picture with her grandson and family).

Anyway, I’ll step off my little soap box now. Enjoy the pictures that Carolyn took of my precious Edmund. I shall treasure them always. And I encourage you to take the opportunity,  if you think of it, to take pictures of life around you. It won’t ever be the same again.

 

One thought on “If it wasn’t for Aunty…

  1. Awww! Thanks, Rose! He is pretty photogenic!

    Also, you are right about letting people take pictures of you! Alice gave me lecture to that effect several years ago, and it has stuck with me through the years.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

